BallReviews

General Category => Drilling & Layouts => Topic started by: AussieBowler on September 17, 2006, 10:48:29 PM

Title: No Thumb
Post by: AussieBowler on September 17, 2006, 10:48:29 PM
Hi,

Can any one please tell me how to weigh a ball with no thumb hole?
The rules say that for a 10 pound or heavier:

A ball drilled without a thumb hole may not have more than one (1) ounce difference between any two sides.

Does this cover all 3 static weight balances or just side?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: Androooo on September 18, 2006, 08:54:53 AM
The center of the grip is between the finger holes
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: T-GOD on September 18, 2006, 11:22:54 AM
Aussie, spoon is correct. Use the center of the bridge for the center of the grip. The ball may not have more than 1 oz. of either side, finger/thumb or top/bottom.

A "quazi" thumbhole may be drilled in the ball, in which case the bowler must be able to put his thumb in it and grip the ball with his fingers and thumb in the ball.

If this is the case, measure the center of his grip the same as with a normal grip. With the quazi thumbhole, the bowler may now use up to 3 oz. top/bottom weight. =:^D
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: AussieBowler on September 18, 2006, 07:23:57 PM
Thanks Spoon and T-GOD for clearing this up.

Aussie
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: AussieBowler on September 18, 2006, 07:23:59 PM
Thanks Spoon and T-GOD for clearing this up.

Aussie
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: dizzyfugu on September 19, 2006, 04:35:00 AM
Any recommendations about pin position? I guess that a pin in ball might be a good choice for a 2 hand drilling?
--------------------

DizzyFugu - Reporting from Germany
Team "X" website & more about me: http://web.mac.com/timlinked/iWeb/X/Thomas.html
"The Future's So Bright I Gotta Wear Shades" - Pat MacDonald
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: T-GOD on September 19, 2006, 02:57:11 PM
dizzy, it all depends on what you want the ball to do. You measure the pin an CG distance the same way from your PAP as you would for a normal bowler. =:^D
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: dizzyfugu on September 20, 2006, 02:03:44 AM
Sure, ball/core dynamics are the same. But if you are to place the CG in the bridge area (instead of palm area), this would raise the pin dramatically? Additionally, there is the 1 ounce limit when only using 2 holes, so I wondered if a pin-out ball would be useable at all for a thumbless drilling? Pin placement (relative to CG/MB) will probably have the "normal" reaction effects.
--------------------

DizzyFugu - Reporting from Germany
Team "X" website & more about me: http://web.mac.com/timlinked/iWeb/X/Thomas.html
"The Future's So Bright I Gotta Wear Shades" - Pat MacDonald
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: T-GOD on September 21, 2006, 01:14:39 PM
dizz, just imagine there is a thumb hole in the ball when laying them out. Or, you can drill a "quazi" thumbhole in order to still use up to 3 oz. top weight. =:^D
Title: Re: No Thumb
Post by: FutureHallOFamer on September 30, 2006, 12:48:39 AM
Mike Miller ex pba and no thumb bowler is my coach and i've practiced with him many times. he drills his equipment with a small hole right in the palm both for legality issues and for comfort. as far as drillings, his stuff is almost always drilled pin above bridge and cg kicked out in the strong position but he can drill his stuff just like any other normal drilling for a 3 finger bowler.
--------------------
Bill Grant