BallReviews
General Category => Miscellaneous => Topic started by: spencerwatts on July 27, 2014, 01:14:23 PM
-
When I last bowled in PBA competition (circa mid-1990s), it used to be that we could not use any re-drilled/plugged bowling balls. Thus, a player was out of luck if he later realized the ball he had punched was slightly off in pitch or span, for example.
I'm curious to know whether the PBA still does not allow re-drilled/plugged balls in competition, or they have changed their rules on it?
-
I think they do at this point. There are 2 examples I can think of where I have seen plugged balls used.
1) Mike DeVaney vs Jason Belmonte at Thunderbowl, when DeVaney had the Storm Street Rod Pearl plugged/drilled with the boomer layout which inverted the core.
2) Sean Rash using an old Rhino urethane ball for spares.
-
From the current PBA Rule Book:
11.8 Plugged Equipment. Plugging material may be used in accordance with current USBC specifications. No foreign matter may be placed within the plug area and all equipment shall otherwise comply will PBA regulations.