BallReviews

General Category => Miscellaneous => Topic started by: SrKegler on March 27, 2004, 05:45:11 PM

Title: Even another rule question
Post by: SrKegler on March 27, 2004, 05:45:11 PM
Where do you find the rule for 9-10th frame rolloff for a tie game in the step ladder finals.

Got burned last nite.  This house simply does a frame erase for the 9th & 10th and you continue bowling.

I shoot 8/XX9 for a 49

Opponent goes X/X for a 40.

He wins, had a strike in the 8th vs my spare in the 8th.

Needless to say I was not a happy camper.  

I checked my ABC rule book but can’t find it anyplace.

--------------------
~~~SrK - Have balls, will travel

1st law of combat, "Bullets always have the right of way"
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: tenpinspro on March 28, 2004, 09:01:09 AM
Hi Srk,

First off, I've never heard of a 9th and 10th frame rolloff where you do a "frame erase".  It's supposed to be simply that, 9&10, if you throw all strikes, highest possible score would be 60.  Based on my experience, you should've won.

However, on page 37&38 of the rule book, it has guidelines for playoffs but that also refers to a team not an individual game.

This would lead me to believe that it would have to be written in your bi-laws somewhere to have a 9&10th frame roll-off but it should also be written that you do this so called "frame erase" also.  I don't agree with that at all, you're not supposed to take any scores previously shot and add to this.  I'd call ABC or check league bi-laws and protest this if needed.

Edit: Didn't we just say that on the other rule question, once a game is complete, the scores cannot be changed?  So by doing a frame erase, aren't you effectively "changing" the score as well?

--------------------
Rick Leong
Ten Pins Pro Shop
Track Pro Shop Staff
Vise Grip Staff

Edited on 3/28/2004 9:58 AM
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: And1_headach on March 28, 2004, 09:35:05 AM
we do 9th and tenth roll off. bowl them and take 1 tenth of your and his hanicap and thats it.
--------------------
EVERY PIN COUNTS!
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: SrKegler on March 28, 2004, 10:39:19 AM
This was a tournament, not league play.  Guy running the show says thats the way they've always done ties, they just rebowl the 9th and 10th frame.  I just can't find anyplace to show/prove to him how the 9/10 roll off score is counted.

This guy isn't exactly the sharpest knife in the drawer, he has to see it written and explained before he'll admit his method is wrong.


--------------------
~~~SrK - Have balls, will travel

1st law of combat, "Bullets always have the right of way"
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: SrKegler on March 28, 2004, 12:19:22 PM
The only thing the tournament flyer states is that ties during the stepladder finals will be determined by a 9th & 10th frame roll off.  Doesn't say how the score will be determined.

Every other time I've been involved in a tie we've worked off of the same system the PBA uses which is the total pinfall for just the new 9/10th frame.

If I can't prove they are doing it wrong, guess I'll just remember not to shoot there again.

Thanks for everyone's help.
--------------------
~~~SrK - Have balls, will travel

1st law of combat, "Bullets always have the right of way"
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: nd300 on March 28, 2004, 01:43:26 PM
Try this website........
 www.bowl.com
 They have the rules posted there.
--------------------
Chris
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: SrKegler on March 28, 2004, 03:24:41 PM
Thanks, tried that first before I posted.  Nothing listed there either.  No problem though, plenty of tournaments around, don't need to go to this one again.
--------------------
~~~SrK - Have balls, will travel

1st law of combat, "Bullets always have the right of way"
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: pin-chaser on March 28, 2004, 04:43:12 PM
I have NEVER heard such a thing!... 9th and 10th means 9th and 10th period! not 9th and 10th plus your previous frames, not 9th and 10th plus your average for each frame previous.... it means, how many pin you knock down in two frames period...any other interputation is some trying to cheat someone unles otherwise stated. And although there is not any rule of this in the ABC rule book, ABC would rule like I stated.
--------------------
Getting all the pins I can.
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: JOE FALCO on March 28, 2004, 05:41:40 PM
ROYAL SCREWING! I guess it all starts with the idiot that stated 9&10 frame roll off. It should be clearly stated as a TWO FRAME ROLL-OFF! To word it as 9&10 frame roll off is idiotic!
--------------------
Hit them light and watch them fight
      J O E - F A L C O
Title: Re: Even another rule question
Post by: OTBTbowler on March 28, 2004, 10:36:47 PM
You didn't have a 9th & 10th frame roll-off, you had an 8th, 9th & 10th frame roll-off. There isn't any way to do this on the automatic scorer without putting 0's in the first eight frames.  We always do them by hand on a score sheet (if you can find one these days) or on a blank sheet of paper.
--------------------
Why change balls? I can miss my target with any of them!