BallReviews

General Category => Miscellaneous => Topic started by: matt smith on November 21, 2003, 10:42:10 AM

Title: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: matt smith on November 21, 2003, 10:42:10 AM
WRW Vs Tim Penner.

Tim has a chance to take the match, if he bags out he bowls 268, if WRW bags out he shoots 259. WRW spares and strikes. Pener steps up needing a 9/1 to win. WRW must have been assuming the worse. Penner steps up and throws one one, but a double gutter! Hands wrw the win, and wrw went on to win the next game and the best out of 7 gamer. UNLUCKY!!! HAHA

good luck and high scoring
matt
Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: matt smith on November 22, 2003, 01:56:05 AM
true, well that would make more sence, or less.... shouldnt he know the rules?!?!?! If thats the case he deserved to loose.

good luck and high scoring
matt
Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: thegame on November 22, 2003, 04:11:34 AM
Yep, it was a 3rd re-rack, mental mistake supreme.
Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: LuckyLefty on November 23, 2003, 04:58:18 AM
That is sad, why don'they just stop him and make him bowl at 2nd rack!?

REgards,

Luckylefty
Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: cgilyeat on November 23, 2003, 07:57:09 AM
My guess is that he had taken the reracks earlier in the game.  It's up to the bowler to remember how many reracks he has taken.
Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: DON DRAPER on November 23, 2003, 03:09:44 PM
if i had to bowl walter ray williams, jr., for "all the wheat", i might have brain lock and forget about how many reracks i'd used.
Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: LuckyLefty on November 24, 2003, 05:09:38 AM
Again, Stupid rule!

In addition it caused enough concern on tour that when
Ryan Shafer asked for (I think 3rd one), He said, "I don't get zero for this do I?"  Final ball final match?

I think they said it was allowed because of problems with machine but I could not clearly hear the answer.

REgards,

Luckylefty

Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: Leftyhi-trak on November 24, 2003, 09:04:45 AM
Penner needed the first ball count with the spare. When he was forced to take a zero I think he fired the next one into the lane. (gutter) He was pretty pissed, it blew his mental game, as the final game Walter mopped the deck with him. Ask Doug Kent about Racks he was whining up a storm about the three pin being 2-3inches off spot in his match. The thing that gets me is the lane can only be worked on after the match has completed, or before its official start. I believe Doug was a bit of a chump for all the carrying-on he did but the rule for the re-racks and lane issues are stupid. It was not a problem for Ryan to ask as the lane had been down during the commercial break. (dropping pins)

Edited on 11/24/2003 10:02 AM
Title: Re: Round of 32, choke of the century.
Post by: T-GOD on November 24, 2003, 11:37:16 AM
I can understand maybe getting fined for taking extra re-racks, but to get a zero is ridiculous if you ask me. =:^D

Edited on 11/24/2003 12:33 PM