BallReviews

General Category => Miscellaneous => Topic started by: LadyW on January 24, 2004, 03:29:14 AM

Title: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: LadyW on January 24, 2004, 03:29:14 AM
I joined a new mixed league and have noticed two things that I've never seen before.

1)  On one bowlers ball there is a piece of 1" black bowlers tape applied to the outside of the ball approximately two inches left of the thumb hole.  He's a right handed bowler.

2)  Another bowler as part of his pre-shot routine wipes his ball off with a towel, takes his rosin bag and pats it over the majority of the surface of the bowling ball including his track area, then proceeds to bowl.

Are these practices legal?
--------------------
LadyWannabe
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: channel surfer on January 24, 2004, 06:36:35 PM
Both are illegal.
--------------------
My Bowling Clinic Site: http://csbowling.vze.com

ASK A PRO:http://csbowling.vze.com/atp.shtml

www.bowlersdream.com - save an additional $3 off any $100 order by simply typing in CSB into the coupon code area at checkout.

Edited on 1/24/2004 7:33 PM
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: mrfjmt on January 24, 2004, 06:41:49 PM
Nope.

1. See Chapter VI in the ABC rule book: ABC/WIBC Equipment Specifications.  In the section "Bowling Ball - Other Requirements", it is stated that no foreign material may be placed on the outer surface of the ball.

2. See above.  Now, if the bowler wipes the rosin off prior to delivering his shot, it would be acceptable.
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: TheBowlingKid25 on January 24, 2004, 07:09:27 PM
Many poeple put this black tape on the outside of a ball ONLY for practice to help with finding an axis point/track, and other things. It is deffinitly illegal to leave it on though.
--------------------
15 years and still going strong! 15 years old that is! DA DA DAAAAAA!! UP UP AND AWAY! TO THE BAT CAVE ROBIN!The names Warrior Princess, Xena..Warrior Princess
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: channel surfer on January 24, 2004, 09:39:51 PM
quote:
Many poeple put this black tape on the outside of a ball ONLY for practice to help with finding an axis point/track, and other things. It is deffinitly illegal to leave it on though.
--------------------
15 years and still going strong! 15 years old that is! DA DA DAAAAAA!! UP UP AND AWAY! TO THE BAT CAVE ROBIN!The names Warrior Princess, Xena..Warrior Princess


Your right, but, its says 2 inches left of the thumb.. That would be in the track area most likley. I dont understand why anyone would put a peice of tape there??
--------------------
My Bowling Clinic Site: http://csbowling.vze.com

ASK A PRO:http://csbowling.vze.com/atp.shtml

www.bowlersdream.com - save an additional $3 off any $100 order by simply typing in CSB into the coupon code area at checkout.
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: LadyW on January 24, 2004, 10:57:30 PM
Thanks for the confrmation.  I thought so but just wanted to make sure.

What effect, if any, could either of these practices have on ball reaction?

Would you let either of them know that they were in violation of ABC rules?
--------------------
LadyWannabe
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: mumzie on January 24, 2004, 11:49:48 PM
I would certainly let them know, but in a polite fashion.

If they aren't serious bowlers, they might not have any reason to know the rules, and it's something that is probably done during cosmic type stuff all the time.

Most newish bowlers are thrilled when you tell them about the rules - even if it sometimes costs them pins. Of course, you have to do it in the right way...

Good luck!
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: channel surfer on January 25, 2004, 06:22:24 AM
quote:
1st, where does it say the bowler is a righty high tracker...therefore we cannot assume that the tape is in the track.

2nd thing, both are illegal.
--------------------
According to the careful calculations of the GEEKIEST BALLREVIEWS MEMBER you can consider this post officially ratified by the dysfunctional geek. 79.875% o yeah


Notice how I said most likley.
--------------------
My Bowling Clinic Site: http://csbowling.vze.com

ASK A PRO:http://csbowling.vze.com/atp.shtml

www.bowlersdream.com - save an additional $3 off any $100 order by simply typing in CSB into the coupon code area at checkout.
Title: Re: Rules question - is it legal?
Post by: nd300 on January 25, 2004, 08:33:37 AM
Both are illegal,and any games bowled with the ball in that condition are subject to forfeiture IF any member of the team bowled against---or a League Officer-----notices him throw one ball after the lights are on for league competition. The League Officers must be notified so that the team captain of this bowler can be told that the games  bowled with the ball in that condition are forfeit.
 I may be wrong on this point but I believe that the forfeiture is retroactive to any games bowled in the current season. If I am wrong on this point then I apologize.
--------------------
Chris