BallReviews
General Category => Miscellaneous => Topic started by: Polish_Hammer on May 20, 2014, 11:12:57 AM
-
I am bowling a summer jr/adult league and want to also bowl a mixed league at the same time in the same bowling center. 4 person and five person team. Does anyone know if there is any USBC rule against this. I may only do this until the mixed league can find a bowler. Because of the slow pace of the Jr/adult it should not be a problem being ready to bowl when it's my turn, so I don't forsee folks complaining about that.
-
I believe there is a rule that says if you do this, you can't use the same ball in each league. Which means, you can throw a ball in the Adult/Jr. league, but you can't take that ball off the rack and then walk down and throw it in the mixed league. You would have to use a different ball in each league. But im not sure if that is still there or not.
Don't be so sure you can "be there to bowl" as you think. There is no way of telling how it will fall out any given week. There may be a lane breakdown, a pin needs to be spotted, deadwood removed, any number of things that will cause you to make one of the leagues waiting for you. If you truly want to bowl your best, and be the best teammate, you will make a choice and bowl one or the other. I think you are asking for trouble in bowling both.
-
"...so I don't forsee folks complaining about that."
Have you bowled in a league before?? :o ;D
-
"...so I don't forsee folks complaining about that."
Have you bowled in a league before?? :o ;D
Yeah I know. Hoping the laid back nature of the summer league crowd will make this doable. I would never try it in a winter or men's league.
-
If the leagues are non-sanctioned and either of the leagues have no rule against it, I don't see there being a problem.
Good luck.
Bob
-
The only problem I can see with this is if it is your turn to bowl on BOTH leagues at the same time. It may prolong a leagues session for either one or both. It's not really fair to the bowlers in either league.
-
Dear Polish_Hammer:
Bottom line: There is no USBC rule to prevent bowling two leagues simultaneously, and of course, if the leagues are non-sanctioned, it wouldn't matter, even if there was such a rule.
An exception would be if either league were to have a specific rule preventing such multiple-league bowling -- but it's safe to say that very few, if any, leagues have that provision in its rules.
I once had a teammate who filled in as a sub in a league to our right (while bowling with us), but the lanes involved were only two pair apart, and it didn't prove to be a problem -- and, yes, he used the same ball in both leagues.
-
Just A few years back, there was a guy bowling in my home center--I forget if it was a summer season or fall season, but he bowled in our league 6: pm. and bowled in a 8 pm. league ....our league was on one side of our house, and his was on the opposite side--56 lanes 28 on each side, and I do believe that he was not permitted to use the same ball he used in the early league in the other league that started a little later. Of Course he only did that the one season...having to constantly flip flop back and forth was a bit of a hassle for him.
Brad