BallReviews

General Category => PBA => Topic started by: Kinalyx on January 14, 2007, 06:49:04 AM

Title: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Kinalyx on January 14, 2007, 06:49:04 AM
As far as i know, even on tour, if u throw a ball with your non bowling hand in competition, u r disqualified, if someone from the show, or even the tournament wanted to argue the point, i think they could take away himmlers payday & give it to the next places.


Im not really upset about him doing it, doesnt bother me 1 bit, but rules r rules, & it seems to me that he broke them.


Anyone else see it this way?

Shawn
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: ShermDawg on January 14, 2007, 02:50:54 PM
in a pba event you can switch hands...
--------------------
Mason Sherman
Hammer Amateur Staff
"Nothing Hits Like A Hammer."
Talk is Cheap, Just Bring it...
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Kinalyx on January 14, 2007, 02:55:10 PM
wtf....really?

If this is true, y dont guys get a weak reactive drilled lefy & practice making 2-10s, or 2-8-10s?

If i could actually bowl left handed, u can guarrantee i would do this all the time.


Shawn
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: anorexicwonder on January 14, 2007, 02:55:59 PM
PBA players may use switch hands at will, provided they are not goofing around or protesting the lane conditions.

I remember the legendary Mark Roth switching to his left hand to win 3 of 4 matches in a lefty domintated tournament years ago.  Also, PBA notables Bryan Alpert & Robert Lawrence have been known to go lefty if they feel that they would be more competitive from that side.

I also want to say that Voss and Eugene sometimes throw left handed at 2-4-8-10's on occasion.
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: mumzie on January 14, 2007, 03:43:39 PM
I believe that if you do something like that, if they were to disqualify anything, it would be the one ball. Norm threw a towel shot as a fill ball a few years ago. He didn't get any pins for the shot, although he got a strike.

--------------------
Scratch Doubles results can be found at
www.bowlersresourcecenter.com/scratchdoubles
--------
For all your embroidery, digital apparel printing, and apparel purchases - check us out!
www.strikinggraphics.com

Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Mvpbowler on January 14, 2007, 03:56:50 PM
Yes, this is true you can switch hands during PBA events. They are not governed under USBC rules persay. They have their own set of rules. Some of the pros are pretty good with both hands actually. There is a guy in california by the name of Brian Alpert who last I knew could average about 210 left handed and was right handed and averaged about 230. He was pretty good!!!
--------------------
George Palumbo
Mvpbowler300@yahoo.com
Mvpbowler@aim.com
2002 True Amateur Challenge Champion
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: shipper50 on January 14, 2007, 04:04:24 PM
quote:
As far as i know, even on tour, if u throw a ball with your non bowling hand in competition, u r disqualified, if someone from the show, or even the tournament wanted to argue the point, i think they could take away himmlers payday & give it to the next places.


Im not really upset about him doing it, doesnt bother me 1 bit, but rules r rules, & it seems to me that he broke them.


Anyone else see it this way?

Shawn


The only reason he did it was to honor Earl Anthony. If you would have listened instead of worry about the rules you would have heard why he did it.

I met Earl in person and he was a class man. We talked about bowlers I knew from the Region and that were on tour at one time.

Shipper
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Urethane Game on January 14, 2007, 04:04:35 PM
It is not illegal. I saw Danny Wiseman bowl left handed in Match Play at Woodland Bowl in Indy 10 years ago or so when he was way out of the top 5.

It is prohibited in USBC competition, however.
--------------------
got revs? (http://"http://www.gotrevs.com")
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: shelley on January 14, 2007, 04:15:11 PM
quote:
It is not illegal. I saw Danny Wiseman bowl left handed in Match Play at Woodland Bowl in Indy 10 years ago or so when he was way out of the top 5.

It is prohibited in USBC competition, however.


It's not that it's illegal to do so in USBC sanctioned competition, it's that you have to set separate averages that way.  In order to change in a single league or tournament (where you already have an established average), you have to have a good reason to do so, like injury.  You can maintain both left- and right-handed averages in two different leagues or tournaments.

The PBA is scratch, and has no real concern what your average is with one hand or the other so long as you pay your dues.

Regarding Duke's towel shot, the disqualification of that single shot was due to him having a mechanical aid during delivery.  Wouldn't matter what hand he threw it with.

SH
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: AmfTrack on January 14, 2007, 04:25:19 PM
LOL stop beating the horse...
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Urethane Game on January 14, 2007, 06:47:53 PM
Shelley, what you said is correct.  But regardless of whether you have established averages for both hands in USBC (not PBA) you can not switch hands during a frame/game.
--------------------
got revs? (http://"http://www.gotrevs.com")
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: stormerjip on January 14, 2007, 09:17:04 PM
mongo i could be wrong but i believe he was meaning to pick up the 2-8-10
--------------------
show no mercy, kill the wounded, eat the dead

regional PBA member since 05
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Necromancer on January 15, 2007, 06:22:03 AM
There is no rule about switching hands.  In fact, I think a bowler could be better bowling with both hands.  Especially on splits that benefit the opposite hand when you are a right handed bowler like the 3-10, 2-10, 2-4-10, 5-10, 1-10, 4-10, 2-8-10, 3-6-9-10, or even the 10 pin itself.  It would be like LeBron James in the PBA.
--------------------
Current arsenal:
Storm X-Factor Vertigo
Storm Trauma ER
Storm Recharge
Ebonite Vortex Afterburner
Columbia 300 Messenger Ti
Storm Hit Blue Pearl
Ebonite 14 Fun Ball
Current Average: 200.02
Hand me any reactive pearl and enjoy the show!
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: cgilyeat on January 15, 2007, 09:17:41 AM
quote:
There is no rule about switching hands.  In fact, I think a bowler could be better bowling with both hands.  Especially on splits that benefit the opposite hand when you are a right handed bowler like the 3-10, 2-10, 2-4-10, 5-10, 1-10, 4-10, 2-8-10, 3-6-9-10, or even the 10 pin itself.  It would be like LeBron James in the PBA.
--------------------
Current arsenal:
Storm X-Factor Vertigo
Storm Trauma ER
Storm Recharge
Ebonite Vortex Afterburner
Columbia 300 Messenger Ti
Storm Hit Blue Pearl
Ebonite 14 Fun Ball
Current Average: 200.02
Hand me any reactive pearl and enjoy the show!

True, but ONLY if you are bowling in a PBA tournament.  Otherwise you can't change hands to shoot a spare.  Fro the USBC rulebook/FAQ:
quote:
25. If a bowler uses his/her opposite hand to make a delivery during a game, what happens?

In accordance with Rule 118b, Item 1, right-handed bowlers must always bowl right-handed and left-handed bowlers must always bowl left-handed when establishing an average. If an individual uses his/her opposite hand
in making a delivery during a game without permission from the league’s board of directors, a league officer or the league board would then have the following options within the timelines as stated in Rule 119.

Declare the individual’s game forfeited: The bowler would receive zero for the game. (Note: Scores bowled by the other team members not in violation stand as bowled.)

Declare the team’s game forfeited: The team would receive zero for the game.

Note: The individual in violation would receive zero. However, scores bowled by the other team members counts toward their individual averages and league awards unless the league rules state otherwise.)

Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Necromancer on January 15, 2007, 09:59:49 AM
quote:
quote:
There is no rule about switching hands.  In fact, I think a bowler could be better bowling with both hands.  Especially on splits that benefit the opposite hand when you are a right handed bowler like the 3-10, 2-10, 2-4-10, 5-10, 1-10, 4-10, 2-8-10, 3-6-9-10, or even the 10 pin itself.  It would be like LeBron James in the PBA.
--------------------
Current arsenal:
Storm X-Factor Vertigo
Storm Trauma ER
Storm Recharge
Ebonite Vortex Afterburner
Columbia 300 Messenger Ti
Storm Hit Blue Pearl
Ebonite 14 Fun Ball
Current Average: 200.02
Hand me any reactive pearl and enjoy the show!

True, but ONLY if you are bowling in a PBA tournament.  Otherwise you can't change hands to shoot a spare.  Fro the USBC rulebook/FAQ:
quote:
25. If a bowler uses his/her opposite hand to make a delivery during a game, what happens?

In accordance with Rule 118b, Item 1, right-handed bowlers must always bowl right-handed and left-handed bowlers must always bowl left-handed when establishing an average. If an individual uses his/her opposite hand
in making a delivery during a game without permission from the league’s board of directors, a league officer or the league board would then have the following options within the timelines as stated in Rule 119.

Declare the individual’s game forfeited: The bowler would receive zero for the game. (Note: Scores bowled by the other team members not in violation stand as bowled.)

Declare the team’s game forfeited: The team would receive zero for the game.

Note: The individual in violation would receive zero. However, scores bowled by the other team members counts toward their individual averages and league awards unless the league rules state otherwise.)




This is news to me.  I think it is B.S.  It pretty much makes the split conversions I mentioned above impossible for a right hander.  Man I feel like just shooting one left handed this week and see what they have to say.  What would be even funnier is making something like the 3-10 baby split left handed and then having my 200+ game forfeited.  I will slam my bowling ball into the lane if that happens.  This is by far the worst rule I ever heard of in any sport.
--------------------
Current arsenal:
Storm X-Factor Vertigo
Storm Trauma ER
Storm Recharge
Ebonite Vortex Afterburner
Columbia 300 Messenger Ti
Storm Hit Blue Pearl
Ebonite 14 Fun Ball
Current Average: 200.02
Hand me any reactive pearl and enjoy the show!
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: shelley on January 15, 2007, 11:06:42 AM
quote:
This is news to me.  I think it is B.S.  It pretty much makes the split conversions I mentioned above impossible for a right hander.  
...
This is by far the worst rule I ever heard of in any sport.


And it makes the corresponding splits pretty much impossible for a lefty.  Don't think they have an advantage, because for every 2-8-10 you leave, they leave a 3-7-9.  How often do you see lefties leaving (and converting) splits that would be impossible for a righty?

There's good cause for that rule.  Without it, there's nothing stopping you from setting a low average with one hand, then using it to bowl tournaments with the other hand.

It would probably be easier to learn to throw a backup ball at splits like that rather than throwing with the opposite hand.  I know several people who do that and are quite successful doing so.

SH
Title: Re: Himmler throws a shot left handed!?!
Post by: Necromancer on January 15, 2007, 11:11:39 AM
quote:
quote:
This is news to me.  I think it is B.S.  It pretty much makes the split conversions I mentioned above impossible for a right hander.  
...
This is by far the worst rule I ever heard of in any sport.


And it makes the corresponding splits pretty much impossible for a lefty.  Don't think they have an advantage, because for every 2-8-10 you leave, they leave a 3-7-9.  How often do you see lefties leaving (and converting) splits that would be impossible for a righty?

There's good cause for that rule.  Without it, there's nothing stopping you from setting a low average with one hand, then using it to bowl tournaments with the other hand.

It would probably be easier to learn to throw a backup ball at splits like that rather than throwing with the opposite hand.  I know several people who do that and are quite successful doing so.

SH


I guess you are right.  I don't get splits often anyways (maybe 1 or 2 every 3 games.  The only reason my average is not higher than it is is because of the 10 pin.  And no I don't have a crazy hook where I don't use a thumb or anything like that.  My release is actually very VERY similar to Brian Himmler (was surprised when I watched the show this Sunday).  I just have a hard time hitting the 10 pin because I either have the ball hook at the end or go into the gutter.  It is pretty much why I bowled 256 the 2nd game last week and 161 the 3rd game (I had 3 10 pins in the 3rd game and missed all 3 LOL!!).  I also lost that game too.
--------------------
Current arsenal:
Storm X-Factor Vertigo
Storm Trauma ER
Storm Recharge
Ebonite Vortex Afterburner
Columbia 300 Messenger Ti
Storm Hit Blue Pearl
Ebonite 14 Fun Ball
Current Average: 200.02
Hand me any reactive pearl and enjoy the show!