BallReviews

General Category => PBA => Topic started by: tenpin477 on February 12, 2009, 03:59:40 PM

Title: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: tenpin477 on February 12, 2009, 03:59:40 PM
If an Amateur were to win the USBC Masters, what happens to the exemption?
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: Z Jellsey on February 13, 2009, 12:03:39 AM
Nothing
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: BAPSBill on February 13, 2009, 12:05:24 AM
Not real sure ,but it would probably go the 2nd place finisher,IF he's a pro.
I think it is safe to say the highest ranked finishing pro would win it.

Bapsbill
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: rockerbowler18 on February 13, 2009, 12:10:52 AM
disappears and isn't awarded

--------------------
JAT Junior Amateur Tour

Robb's Pro Shops: Bakersfield, California

Rob Stone Supporters of America!
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: applegam on February 13, 2009, 06:09:53 AM
quote:
I believe Rick Steelsmith did it in 1987.


Yeah, but there wans't an exempt tour in 87.
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: shelley on February 13, 2009, 06:10:27 AM
Rule 7.3.5 in the PBA rule book says that amateurs are not eligible to win exemptions.  It wouldn't be right for it to go to the high PBA finisher you want to give a 2-year exemption to someone who didn't win?

If an amateur wins any PBA tournament, whether it's an open field tournament like the US Open or Masters or a exempt tournament, there's simply no exemption awarded for that tournament.

SH
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: mrbowlingnut on February 13, 2009, 08:39:17 AM
Or you join the PBA before the telecast and then drop the card if you lose, that is a safe trick used by the guys who do not want to lose the free ride for 2 years.
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: Pinbuster on February 13, 2009, 10:14:54 AM
I'm not sure they allow that.

You can join before the tournament starts and then drop afterwards.

But I don't thing you can join just for the show.
Title: Re: Masters Exemption Question
Post by: mrbowlingnut on February 13, 2009, 10:51:20 AM
Maybe it is the whole tournament but I have heard of joining and dumping alot from the amateurs. Collins and his brother are famous for this tactic, i think he finally gave up though.

On edit i know to guys who make through TQR's doing this all the time, Rhino did this for awhile I know his sponsor well.

Edited on 2/13/2009 11:53 AM