BallReviews
General Category => PBA => Topic started by: gHatMan on June 29, 2009, 08:32:55 AM
-
I read the tournament FAQ Sheet of the PBA website about cashing at a Regional and becoming a PBA member. I'm pretty sure I understand the rules but i want to make sure to be on the safe side. If I cash once, then I cash again......I'm not a PBA member. However, if I want to bowl a third time, I need to become a member. This means I'm not automatically a member after I cash the second time......right?
--------------------
I feel bad for the bowler''s defenceless equipement when the bowler is not bowling up to par. . . .don''t you?
-
gHat,
You are close. You can cash in two Regionals a year and not be a PBA member. You can bowl in as many other Regionals as you want after those two cashes and not be a PBA member. If you cash a third time in a year, then you have to become a PBA member or lose your winnings. It's the number of cashes that make the difference.
And just an FYI, not sure what your reasoning is for this, but becoming a PBA member and bowling 3 Regionals a year, almost pays for itself. It is $144/yr for the basic membership but you save $65 per Regional over the non-Member entry fee. There is an initial $100 fee that I didn't include in my math, but you will make this up in due course as well. So there are advantages to being a member, besides some discounts on practice and equipment.
--------------------
Jorge300
Edited on 6/30/2009 7:34 AM
-
In addition, a non-member can cash in the Member/Non-Member Doubles and not have it count as a third cash. In other words, you can cash three times so long as one is the M/NM Doubles.
NO ONE AUTOMATICALLY becomes a PBA member. You have to choose to do it.
-
Riggs is correct, forgot that one. Thanks Riggs.
--------------------
Jorge300
-
If you plan on only bowling like 1 local one per year it probably wouldn't be worth it. But if you plan on bowling them regularly you could fill out the form at the Regional and select the box marked something like this "upon cashing in my 1st regional event I would like to accept the prize and become a pba member." It's something along those lines, and basically they would take all fees for the first year out of that tournaments winnings ($100 initial fee + $144 for the 1st year.) Just another way of doing it
-
thanks everyone
--------------------
I feel bad for the bowler's defenceless equipement when the bowler is not bowling up to par. . . .don't you?
-
quote:
And just an FYI, not sure what your reasoning is for this, but becoming a PBA member and bowling 3 Regionals a year, almost pays for itself. It is $144/yr for the basic membership but you save $65 per Regional over the non-Member entry fee. There is an initial $100 fee that I didn't include in my math, but you will make this up in due course as well. So there are advantages to being a member, besides some discounts on practice and equipment.
Assuming that you don't want to bowl any events that prohibit PBA members, yes. Friends - especially younger ones - have rushed into a card and regretted not being able to bowl some of the high rollers and other tournaments because they chose to go the PBA route. It never hurts to test the waters first as a guest.
--------------------
J.J. "Waterola Kid" Anderson - "Better than Jello" - Kill the back row