BallReviews

General Category => PBA => Topic started by: SpareK on January 13, 2008, 01:04:22 PM

Title: Plugged ball in TRQ
Post by: SpareK on January 13, 2008, 01:04:22 PM
I s it true that a pluged ball can not be used in thr PBA qualifyer?
A>A
Title: Re: Plugged ball in TRQ
Post by: agroves on January 13, 2008, 09:12:29 PM
clear plugged within 3/4" of another hole.

There are guidelines on PBAs website.  I believe this is the ruling.

Andrew
--------------------
FUFU
Title: Re: Plugged ball in TRQ
Post by: Russell on January 14, 2008, 09:44:45 AM
Last year you could use plug in TQR, just not in the round of 64 and beyond.  The TQR was under "Grassroots" rules meaning you could use some of the smaller companies.

That was last year though.
--------------------
http://www.myspace.com/rlrussell

The artist formerly known as "jabroni"
Title: Re: Plugged ball in TRQ
Post by: cgilyeat on January 14, 2008, 12:38:58 PM
From the PBA site (Resources->FAQ->Equipment-."What equipment can I use/"
quote:

• In PBA Tour competition, clear plugs and solid inserts (slugs) may be used in finger and thumbholes, provided they do not exceed three fourths (3/4) of an inch across the diameter of the hole. When manufactured inserts are used in conjunction with clear plugs or solid inserts, the total thickness cannot exceed three fourths (3/4) of an inch.

• In PBA Senior Tour, Regional Tour, PBA Tour Qualifying Round, U.S. Open, and PBA World Championship competition, there will be no specific plug limitations for plugged equipment. However, no foreign matter may be placed in the plug area, and all equipment shall otherwise comply with PBA regulations.
 Clear plugs are required for the actual tournament, any plugged ball can be used in the TQR.

The short answer is yes, plugged balls can be used in the TQR.

Colin