BallReviews

General Category => PBA => Topic started by: Wilbert on January 06, 2009, 03:15:45 AM

Title: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: Wilbert on January 06, 2009, 03:15:45 AM
I saw that the amateur that made it through the PTQ in the Reno Mixed Doubles did not get a paycheck.  He bowled the 2 seven game blocks with the exempt bowlers and did not make the top 16.  The exempt bowlers got a paycheck, but the amateur did not.  Could someone explain what the rules are?
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: Pinbuster on January 06, 2009, 11:31:13 AM
I saw that as well.

My only guess and it is a guess. Is that he had cashed in regionals and that to accept the prize money would require him to join the PBA.
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: stormed1 on January 06, 2009, 11:47:04 AM
Another possibility is that he was a collegiate player. I remember someone making tV in a major that was a college player and he would not be able to get any money and still stay eligable for college sports
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: backupball on January 06, 2009, 11:47:50 AM
He's not a collegiate player, he toured in the early 90's.
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: WSUstroker on January 06, 2009, 12:30:24 PM
quote:
Another possibility is that he was a collegiate player. I remember someone making tV in a major that was a college player and he would not be able to get any money and still stay eligable for college sports


That was George Lambert making the masters finals a few years ago when bowling for Wichita State.  As far as I know, there's no rule about making money bowling and bowling in college as men's bowling is not NCAA regulated.  Lots of college bowlers bowl men's leagues and nationals every year and win money.
--------------------
Dan Chambers
www.absolutebowling.com
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: tenpin477 on January 06, 2009, 12:45:06 PM
Yes, as long as one doesn't play any other varsity level sport, accepting money would have no effect on one's ability to bowl collegiately.
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: Platinum Bowler on January 06, 2009, 05:42:02 PM
Does anyone have a direct answer on this? I do not believe that two cashes in a Regional would effect this either, but I am not completely sure.
--------------------
B-Car
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: Dewey24 on January 06, 2009, 06:07:46 PM
this is from the pba rulebook, dont know if it applies here or not..

 
quote:
13.2.4 Amateur Cash Rule. An amateur may cash in two (2) PBA Regional Tour
events and one (1) PBA Senior Tour event per season.
a. If an amateur has cashed in two (2) PBA Regional Tour events or one (1)
PBA Senior Tour event in a season and wishes to participate in another
event, he or she must declare prior to the tournament that if he or she
cashes he or she will not be allowed to accept the prize money unless he
or she becomes a member.
b. If an amateur chooses to accept the prize money, an application for
membership must be completed and the initiation fee and dues for a full
year will be deducted from the prize money won.
c. Whenever a region conducts a Member/Non-Member doubles event, this
event shall not count toward the two cash rule.
d. Participation in PBA TQR events shall not count toward the PBA
Regional/Senior Tour, two cash rule.
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: Platinum Bowler on January 06, 2009, 06:35:35 PM
So d. rules that the two-cash Regional rule would not apply. I wonder what happened...
--------------------
B-Car
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: PWOICantHearU on January 08, 2009, 06:41:12 AM
Amateurs can take cash and no points.  George Lambert IV took home 25,000 for 3rd that day.
--------------------
Andrew Hurst

Bowl to Win
Title: Re: PTQ Amateur Question
Post by: Wilbert on January 08, 2009, 09:12:37 AM
I think there was a error on the PBA website.  Originally it showed the no payment to the amateur.  It was changed later.